Imogen Heap - iBabble Forum Index

<  'Ellipse' Discussion  ~  Time Signatures

DavidB
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:32 pm Reply with quote
I think Immi said on the vBlogs that three of the tracks on Ellipse were in 3-time. Earth and Canvas are two of them, but which is the other? Does anyone remember if Immi mentioned this?

'Between Sheets' could be interpreted as 3/4 with a fast tempo, but it sounds to me more like 4/4 with triplets in the piano part. I'm not sure about 'The Fire', as there are long pauses and tempo changes in it, but it sounds like 3/4 towards the end.

I'm not an expert musician, but I like to know about these technical things. Can anyone help me out?
AvantGuy
Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:11 am Reply with quote
DavidB wrote:
I think Immi said on the vBlogs that three of the tracks on Ellipse were in 3-time. Earth and Canvas are two of them, but which is the other? Does anyone remember if Immi mentioned this?

'Between Sheets' could be interpreted as 3/4 with a fast tempo, but it sounds to me more like 4/4 with triplets in the piano part. I'm not sure about 'The Fire', as there are long pauses and tempo changes in it, but it sounds like 3/4 towards the end.

I'm not an expert musician, but I like to know about these technical things. Can anyone help me out?

I'd agree with you: Canvas, The Fire, and Earth (sort of) are in three, at least in part. So often there are several equally "correct" ways to notate a stretch of music, but I'll offer how some of Ellipse's tunes feel to me...

<warning, painfully pedantic>